An applicant for the Churchill Scholarship must be a citizen of the United States, either native born or naturalized, and must be a senior who is enrolled in one of the institutions participating in the Scholarship Program or a student who has graduated from one of those institutions within the past 12 months. Upon taking up the Churchill Scholarship, a Churchill Scholar must hold a bachelor's degree or an equivalent, and may not have attained a doctorate.

Participating Institutions

Amherst College
Arizona State University
Auburn University
Bates College
Baylor University
Boston College
Boston University
Bowdoin College
Brandeis University
Brown University
Bryn Mawr College
California Institute of Technology
Carleton College
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
Claremont McKenna College
Clemson University
Colgate University
College of William and Mary
Colorado School of Mines
Columbia University
Cornell University
CUNY Macaulay Honors College
Dartmouth College
Davidson College
Duke University
Emory University
Fordham University
George Washington University
Georgetown University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Grinnell College
Harvard University
Harvey Mudd College
Haverford College
Howard University
Indiana University/Bloomington
Johns Hopkins University
Lehigh University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mercer University
Michigan State University
Middlebury College
Mississippi State University
Mount Holyoke College
New York University
North Carolina State University
Northeastern University
Northwestern University
Oberlin College
Occidental College
Ohio State University
Oregon State University
Pennsylvania State University
Pitzer College
Pomona College
Princeton University
Purdue University
Reed College
Rice University
Rutgers University
Saint Joseph's University
Scripps College
Smith College

Southern Methodist University
Stanford University
Stony Brook University
Swarthmore College
Texas A&M University
Tufts University
Tulane University
United States Air Force Academy
United States Military Academy
United States Naval Academy
University of Alabama
University of Arizona

University of Arkansas/Fayetteville
University of California/Berkeley
University of California/Davis
University of California/Irvine
University of California/Los Angeles
University of California/Riverside
University of California/San Diego
University of California/Santa Barbara
University of Chicago
University of Colorado/Boulder
University of Connecticut
University of Delaware
University of Florida
University of Georgia
University of Illinois/Chicago
University of Illinois/Urbana-Champaign
University of Iowa
University of Kansas
University of Kentucky
University of Maine
University of Maryland/College Park
University of Massachusetts/Amherst
University of Michigan/Ann Arbor
University of Minnesota/Twin Cities
University of Mississippi
University of Missouri
University of Nebraska/Lincoln
University of New Hampshire
University of New Mexico
University of North Carolina/Chapel Hill
University of Notre Dame
University of Oklahoma
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
University of Texas/Austin
University of Tulsa
University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin/Madison
Vanderbilt University
Vassar College
Wake Forest University
Washington and Lee University
Washington University in St. Louis
Wellesley College
Wesleyan University
Williams College
Yale University

Other Conditions:

Except for reasons of health or other emergency, a Churchill Scholar makes a commitment to complete the program of study for which he or she is admitted, including such requirements as completion of a thesis and sitting for written or oral examinations. Failure to fulfill this commitment will require the refund of all funds expended on the student’s behalf.

Each Scholar must submit two narrative reports describing his or her academic work and the Cambridge experience, one in January and the second upon completion of the academic program.

Limit of Liability: The Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States has no responsibility for bodily injury, sickness, accident, or death of Churchill Scholars, whether traveling to or from, or while residing in, the United Kingdom or otherwise. Although Churchill Scholars are covered by the National Health Service while in the United Kingdom, the purchase of health, accident, or other insurance against any such risks is at the option of the Scholar but is strongly recommended by the Foundation. It is to be noted that the National Health Service does not cover individuals outside of the United Kingdom.